Fat Nerd

FAT NERD
by Daniel Uy
July 3, 2009

from XSENG GEMS 08

Sometimes, I wonder if I carry a tag around my body. Only two adjectives come out of people’s mouths to describe me – FAT and NERD. It seems like the dictionary had only these two entries in its pages. After a brief pause or a serious attempt to use a less offensive word, the outcome remains the same. I am still the Fat and Nerdy Daniel everyone knows and ridicules. Surprisingly, I am not bothered at all although sometimes I wish that people would come to see beyond my physical appearance. I never questioned God about my genetic condition although sometimes I have this tendency to agree that God did not create us equal. God gave me less of a fit body but gave me more of that intense drive to do my best in all other aspects so that I may compensate for whatever physical weakness I may have. As the saying goes, “You can’t have everything.” On the other hand, I’d like to add that you can do something.

I hope that people will understand that this weakness has driven me to excel in other aspects like the academics and the musical field. The fat and nerdy Daniel has now created the perfectionist in me, the ever grade conscious boy who diligently churns out work that is done to one’s best. There’s always this inner voice in me that tells me to do my best in everything. Excellence in my work has a two-fold objective of attaining personal satisfaction and triumph in overcoming my physical weakness.

Published by

duy13

Xavier High School Student

Leave a comment